Forget Me Not-Letters From The Valley

 

How could one forget one’s self? Turning away from whom and what they really are. I am not ashamed of anything regarding myself.  And I am not afraid to express what I’m about or what concerns me.

Freedom is a very powerful thing. Liberation is a privilege to take advantage of, yet many do not indulge in the opportunity out of fear, the fear to truly be themselves.

Some, who are different and unique in their behavior, appearance or preference and so on, would rather fit in with the general population than to endure the ridicule and rejection that many individuals face.

So instead of having the courage to reveal who they truly are they compromise themselves to gain acceptance.

In my opinion that is a very empty way to live and to conduct one’s life. It is also very sad.

To me, generality is boring. I find myself more interesting in being unique as I am like no other. I find delight and excitement in what I like even if nobody else does.

When one downplays what they are genuinely about they sell themselves short.

I wouldn’t want to be anything other than me, pretending just to satisfy and to get the approval of others.

People who stoop to that level do not deserve the blessings that come along with having true individuality.

 

Visit My Voice Weblog By Miss LaToya Lawrence

2 thoughts on “Forget Me Not-Letters From The Valley

  1. I was the “fake it to make it” girl for almost 33 years, I am 34 now. I tried to do everything to please my parents who are pastors of a non dem church. I would sneak and do everything behind their back even after I was a grown adult. If I watched a scary movie I was afraid to tell them, If I went to a bar I would’int tell them. It was ridiclious how brain washed I was and I thought if I did anything wrong that was’int “pleasing” to God I would pay for it. Now I think all that shit is foolish and lies. I believe that Christianity is the biggest cult out there. Now I am just me and raise my son without religion. He can become whoever he wants to be without this Mommy trying to make him into something he’s not. 🙂 I really enjoyed your post!!!

    • It Is Not Healthy At All To Repress Who We Are. It Is Very Important To Have The Freedom To Be Ourselves And To Live The Way That We Want To And In Accordance To Our Own Set Of Rules That Suit And Apply To Us Personally. Life Is Much Better That Way And We Come Out Much Happier And Productive. I Am So Glad That You Have Found Relief In Your Liberation. And I Totally Agree With You About Christianity. It Is The Biggest Cult And “Highly Misleading Culprit” That There Is. The Religion Literally “Robs” One Of The Ultimate And Complete Truth-Life, And Happiness.

      It Was Nice To Have You Visit. And It Was Nice To Correspond With You. Have A Good Day!

Leave a Reply

