Cookie

cookie crunchMy favorite flavor is vanilla and french vanilla. My mother’s favorite was always chocolate.

I use to love and enjoy chocolate as a child but after a while it would make me sick with terrible stomach pain so the doctor advised me to stay away from it along with coca cola.

Certain chocolate desserts are often attractive to look at yet I do not at all desire to eat any of them. I haven’t messed with chocolate in over twenty years.

I do not like to eat junk I prefer foods that are healthy with a substantial amount of nutritional value. A lot of us get a taste for something sweet though once in a while and I just love those Royal Dansk Danish Cookie Selection.

snackI only see them available at Duane Reade so far.

I do not eat the butter ones and the selection does not contain any assorted chocolate variety.

The ingredients are suitable enough to me (they contain vanilla, coconut, oat flakes, palm kernel oil) and the texture of the cookies are just about right, not too hard. When I get the taste for them sometimes I can’t put them down.

I must say that the Denmark company where it is imported from has gotten cheap because as a child I remember these Dansk brands as having two piles of assorted rows, one that sat atop from the other, now there is only one row.

cookie treat

Chips

bag of chipsI love potatoes, I always have. French fries were one of my favorite foods, especially home fries fried firmly.

My favorite potato chips of all time that I like to snack on are the Classic Lay’s as they have a distinct taste compared to the other potato chip brands.

I like the Classic Lay’s in the blue bag even better as they are lightly salted.

Charles Chips use to also be a good brand I don’t know how they are now I haven’t ate one of them since childhood back in the eighties.

What I love so much about Lay’s as well as the taste is that they are made with just a few simple natural ingredients which are also responsible for giving it that distinct flavor.

Just the potatoes, sunflower, corn and/or canola oil, and salt.

That sunflower oil I know for a fact is what brings out most of that good distinct Classic Lay’s potato chip flavor and I can tell because when I use to cook my homemade fries in sunflower oil they would always come out tasting better compared to when I was cooking them in the other vegetable oils.

Customer service over at frito lay assured me that their company had no future plans of ever changing the Classic Lay’s ingredients and I was so glad.

I called them up once to inquire since on so many occasions consumers will phone up to companies with their own personal dissatisfaction regarding a particular product that may have been just fine to someone else then the next thing you know the product is either “improved” or “completely gone off the market”.

So unfair to the smaller percentage of people out there who may have enjoyed the specific product as it was. No need to tamper with an already good thing.

I found out though that they had discontinued the Lay’s Garden Tomato And Basil.

 

Soy

soy milkI’ve never had a problem with soy, when I fry my foods I cook them in soybean oil, sunflower, or canola.

Years ago back in 1991 or 1992 I had first come across silk soy milk for the very first time at my local supermarket. Since I was a vegan at the time back then who completely did not consume any type of dairy I was looking for a milk alternative or substitute.

So I purchased the vanilla flavored soy and gave it a try.

It had no kind of taste at all or should I say a very unpleasant flavor to my taste buds (It was literally disgusting). I let my mother try some of the milk and she didn’t like it either. My dog wouldn’t even touch it. I gave it to her because I didn’t want the rest of it to go to waste and because my dog was a big regular milk and ice cream lover.

Late last year or early this year I came upon silk soy milk again at my local area supermarket. So many times in the past since that first experience I would just notice the product up on the refrigerator shelves and keep on moving.

After so many years and times of passing it by and passing it up something came and hit me, telling me to give the silk soy milk another try once again.

“Years have gone by maybe the company has improved the product by now”, I had reasoned with my own logic. “It has been out on the market too long for it to still have that same dreadful old taste”.

plate of vanillaSo for the second time ever in my life I purchased another half-gallon vanilla flavored silk soy milk. And this time when I brought the beverage home I was not disappointed.

I was very much delighted.

Especially since I could never go back to drinking cows milk again, I am just so turned off by it nowadays more than ever, the smell of it is enough for me.

I even got my mother hooked on drinking silk soy milk (chocolate is her favorite very vanilla is mine). She was very hesitant at first but I had to convince her that the product had improved.

We even like the soy ice cream frozen dessert by the “so delicious” brand. I loved ice cream but I have not eaten dairy ice cream in two whole years straight now. And I will never go back to it.

We do not consume these soy products constantly, however, we do enjoy them on a now and again basis.

Before I purchase an item I always check out the ingredients regardless of how long I’ve been using the product. I had been drinking Silk soy milk for a while now and was disappointed when I noticed that they’d taken out the carrageenan and replaced it with gellan gum.

I immediately phoned up the silk/white wave company some months back and asked for an explanation and I was told that due to overwhelming consumer pressure in regards to carrageenan and it’s supposed dangerous and/or risk causing health effects it was removed away from the product.

soy